By: Isett H.C.R. No. 40

## CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The women's cross country team of Texas Tech
University concluded a successful 2006 season by making its first
ever appearance in the NCAA championships on November 20, 2006,
where it finished sixth among the 31 competing teams; and
WHEREAS, The Lady Red Raiders were paced by sophomore Sally

WHEREAS, The Lady Red Raiders were paced by sophomore Sally Kipyego, who won the NCAA individual title by finishing first in the 6,000-meter event; this win marked Ms. Kipyego's sixth consecutive victory in an undefeated season, and her outstanding accomplishments in 2006 earned her All-America honors and the Female Athlete of the Year award from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association; and

WHEREAS, Irene Kimaiyo, the team's second All-American, also did extremely well in the championship event, finishing ninth in the individual standings; the other talented runners who contributed to the Red Raiders' fine showing in the NCAA championships were Violet Chemakwila, Gladys Kipsang, Asia Diaz, Jessica Stovall, and Michelle Edman; five additional athletes, Michlene Daniels, Amy Darlington, Tori Epperson, Molly Evans, and Stephanie Lowe, were part of the 2006 team; and

WHEREAS, Directed by head coach Jon Murray and assisted by manager Thomas Korir, the women's cross country team has emerged as one of the best in the nation, and its exemplary showing in 2006 has brought further acclaim to the proud athletic tradition of Texas Tech University; now, therefore, be it

H.C.R. No. 40

- RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
  hereby congratulate the members of the Texas Tech University
  women's cross country team for their excellent performance at the
  A 2006 NCAA championships and extend to them best wishes for
- continued success; and, be it further

  RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas

8 House of Representatives and Senate.

7