By: King of Zavala

H.C.R. No. 54

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The football team of Hondo High School thrilled its 2 many fans with an outstanding 2006 season that saw its players 3 complete one of the most successful campaigns in the school's

4 history; and

WHEREAS, Displaying unflappable composure and perfect execution, the Owls won all 10 of their regular season match-ups and claimed the District 28-3A championship; in postseason play, they racked up three commanding victories in the 3A Division 2 playoffs and were crowned champions of Region IV; Hondo then earned a hard-fought win over Wimberley High School in the quarterfinals before falling to Liberty Hill, the eventual state champion, in its semifinal game; and

WHEREAS, This powerhouse team received maximum effort from each member of the varsity roster: Elliott Hackebeil, Matt Hoog, Kolten Thigpen, Derek Trevino, Austin DeLeon, Tyler Luce, Andrew Sanchez, Chris Davis, Chris Jenkins, Andy Werner, Robert Douglas, Steven Tapia, Cody Tondre, Wesley Favor, Derek Peters, Kenny Adlong, Jared Graff, Ronnie Knowles, Bobby Tellez, Adam Decker, Eric Fernandez, Michael McDonald, Leo Fernandez, Marshall Saathoff, Josh Sanchez, Jacob Van De Walle, Jacob Guedea, Greg Guajardo, Derek Bell, Coleman McCord, Derek Ortega, Allen Guedea, C. J. Chavez, Dustin Lilie, Chris Sanchez, Patton Gilliam, Joseph Monreal, Ben Dalton, Zach Stansbury, Ted Adams, William Shannon,

David Barrios, Jose Robles, Joseph Ortega, Zach Bohmfalk, Allan

H.C.R. No. 54

- 1 Lopez, Steven Contreras, Travis Hay, Cordero Silva, Jesse
- 2 Hernandez, Jake Muennink, Michael Acosta, Isaac Morin, Jared
- 3 Miller, Kendrick Vallez, Ben Ivey, Carlos Mena, Curtis Stoner,
- 4 Thomas Delgado, Kevin McGill, Drake Aelvoet, James Thacker, Richard
- 5 Jones, and Tony Difuccia; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Led by head coach P. J. Wells, the team received
- 7 additional guidance from the other members of the coaching staff:
- 8 defensive coordinator Jeff Rochat, offensive coordinator Tim
- 9 Williams, and assistant coaches Jeff Stivors, Joe Ortega, Cy Barr,
- 10 Robert Russell, Fred McCollum, Patrick Howard, Peter Perez, George
- 11 Proctor, Hank Stiteler, Henry Holt, and Freddie Martinez; in
- 12 addition, the players benefited from the vital assistance of
- 13 trainer John Zerr and student trainers Katy Sturm, Eden Gauna,
- 14 Pennie Vidal, John Martinez, and Eric Neuman; and
- WHEREAS, With their impressive 14-1 record, the Owls equaled
- 16 the achievement of the legendary 1956 Hondo High team, and their
- 17 gridiron excellence in 2006 will stand as a source of enduring pride
- 18 for their classmates, parents, and the residents of their hometown;
- 19 now, therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 21 hereby congratulate the Hondo High School Owls football team on its
- 22 exemplary 2006 season and extend to its players, coaches, and staff
- 23 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 25 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 26 House of Representatives and Senate.