## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Lone Star State depends on the leadership and dedication of people such as Chris Kyker of Abilene, who has advocated in behalf of some of the state's most vulnerable citizens for more than four decades; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Kyker attended Abilene Christian University, where she earned a bachelor's degree in English and drama in 1946 and went on to earn master's degrees in speech education and communication; she worked as a speech and theater instructor at her alma mater and Hardin-Simmons University before entering social services in 1963 as the executive director of the Abilene Mental Health Association, where she worked for more than a decade; in 1974, she helped found the Area Agency on Aging of West Central Texas, an organization that offers a range of services for people over 60, and served as its director for five years; and

WHEREAS, Appointed by Governor Bill Clements, she subsequently served as founding executive director of the Texas Department on Aging from 1979 to 1984 and state coordinator for the White House Conference on Aging in 1981; moreover, Mrs. Kyker worked for two years as a program specialist for the Texas Department of Human Resources; she returned to the nonprofit sector in 1986 as founding president and chief executive officer of Disability Resources, Inc., an Abilene-based organization that provides residential care, training, and jobs for developmentally disabled individuals; since 1992, she has served as consultant for

H.C.R. No. 68

- 1 a similar venture, Rainbow Omega, Inc.; and
- 2 WHEREAS, This esteemed Texan is committed to public policy
- 3 development as a leader of numerous groups, including the Texas
- 4 Health Institute Long Term Care Industry Council, for which she
- 5 serves as chair, the Texas Aging and Disability Resource Center,
- 6 the Texas Institute for Health Policy Research, the Governor's
- 7 Advisory Council on Physical Fitness, the University of
- 8 Indianapolis Center of Excellence for Aging and Community, and the
- 9 Abilene Christian University Pruett Gerontology Center, to name but
- 10 a few; in addition, she represents Taylor and Jones Counties in the
- 11 Texas Silver-Haired Legislature, for which she served as speaker
- 12 from 2002 to 2006; and
- WHEREAS, With passion and integrity, Chris Kyker has worked
- 14 to improve the lives of countless individuals, and she is most
- 15 deserving of special recognition for her outstanding
- 16 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 18 hereby honor Chris Kyker on her many years of service in behalf of
- 19 Texans and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success
- 20 and happiness; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Mrs. Kyker as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives and Senate.

King of Taylor

## H.C.R. No. 68

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

	H.C.R. No. 68
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 68 was adopted by the House or
February 8, 2007, by a non-rec	cord vote.
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. February 13, 2007, by a viva-v	No. 68 was adopted by the Senate or voce vote.
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:Date	_
Governor	-