H.C.R. No. 71

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, First State Bank of Uvalde is marking the milestone 2 of its 100th anniversary; founded in 1907, the bank has withstood 3 the challenges of the Great Depression, the drought of the 1950s, 4 and the Texas banking crisis of the 1980s to play an important role 5 in the economic vitality of South Texas; and

6 WHEREAS, With a proud history that includes John Nance Garner 7 as one of its owners, the bank is now headed by Dolph Briscoe, who 8 has been the majority stockholder since 1960, and Lewis E. Bracy, 9 Jr., chairman; the bank's broad-based expertise and exceptional 10 management team is recognized throughout the banking industry, and 11 its leadership has helped it grow from assets of approximately \$10 12 million to more than \$400 million; and

WHEREAS, The year 2007 signals 100 years of growth and development in Uvalde County and South Texas, and First State Bank of Uvalde, with its tradition of service and trademark banner of progress, has made significant contributions to the economic, civic, and cultural well-being of its area; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas 19 hereby recognize First State Bank of Uvalde on the occasion of the 20 bank's centennial anniversary and extend sincere best wishes to all 21 associated with this fine financial institution; and, be it further

1

H.C.R. No. 71 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for First State Bank of Uvalde as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

> Gallego King of Zavala

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.C.R. No. 71

Miles

H.C.R. No. 71

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 71 was adopted by the House on February 7, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 71 was adopted by the Senate on February 13, 2007, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor