By: Hardcastle

H.C.R. No. 116

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Northside Indians football team of Wilbarger 1 2 County captured the 2006 Class A Six-Man Division II State 3 Championship with an impressive 60-41 victory over runner-up Jayton High School at Shotwell Stadium in Abilene on December 16, 2006; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Led by Regional Coach of the Year Ed Donahue, the 6 Indians completed their season with an outstanding 14-1 record; the team totaled 951 points on offense, while yielding only 324 points 7 on defense, and forty-fived 12 of 15 teams during the season, 8 including three of five in the playoffs; and 9

10 WHEREAS, The championship team includes all-state players 11 Justin Acosta, Nathan McGee, Corey Samson, Colby White, Landry 12 Freeling, and Zack Agnew; valuable contributions were also made by 13 team members Koby Dickerson, Clinton Selman, Zach Voelkel, Blaine 14 Halencak, Bobby Pruitt, Joe Martinez, Larry Phillips, Cody Bunch, 15 Bradley Thompson, Cole Selman, Johnny Delgado, Brad Matthews, and 16 Josh Horn; and

WHEREAS, Coach Donahue, who is the school superintendent, 17 18 received essential support from fellow coaches Wayne Tuckwell and Chris Casarez; the team additionally benefited from the efforts of 19 cheerleader sponsor Carla Selman and cheerleaders Vanessa 20 21 Humphrey, Malinda Riggins, Blythe Wilkinson, Allison Baker, Lauren 22 Ward, Jodi Pruitt, and Carol Humphrey; managers Bobby Don Riggins, 23 Clint Ward, Kye Adams, Cade Freeling, Justin Faulkner, and Glenn 24 Cook; and the assistance of principal and athletic director Cindy

1

H.C.R. No. 116

1 Riggins; and

2 WHEREAS, In winning the school's first state football 3 championship, the Northside Indians football team has earned its 4 place in the annals of Texas high school football history, and this 5 remarkable display of teamwork and dedication is worthy of special 6 recognition; now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas 8 hereby congratulate Coach Ed Donahue and the Northside Indians 9 football team for winning the 2006 Class A Six-Man Division II State 10 Championship and extend best wishes to the many individuals who 11 played a part in this tremendous achievement; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for Northside School as an expression of high regard by the 14 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

2