HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Many proud current and former residents marked a significant milestone when they celebrated the 125th anniversary of Valentine on February 14, 2007; and

WHEREAS, Located in Jeff Davis County, the town was named and founded when the crew of the Southern Pacific Railroad reached the site on Valentine's Day of 1882; trains began running through the area the following year, and a post office was established in 1886; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, A once popular shipping point for local cattle ranchers, Valentine had a population of 500 by 1914, when the community claimed several businesses and five cattle breeders, and the number of citizens living in Valentine peaked at more than 600 in the early 1930s; and

WHEREAS, A town without a property tax, Valentine celebrated its quasquicentennial with a party that included a parade, a dance, and a fund-raiser to help support the city's infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, For 125 years, Valentine has provided a home to generations of Texans, and its current residents may take justifiable pride in their community, knowing that it has added to the rich history and culture of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby commemorate the 125th anniversary of the city of Valentine and extend to its citizens best wishes for the future.

Gallego

H.C.R. No. 162

Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar	Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer	Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal
Escobar	Madden	Van Arsdale
		_
		-
Flores	McCall	Vo
Flynn	McClendon	West
Frost	McReynolds Menendez	Woolley Zedler
Gallego Garcia	Merritt	Zedler Zerwas
Galcia	LICITICC	7 CT M Q D

H.C.R. No. 162
Speaker of the House
52 was adopted by the House or
Chief Clerk of the House
was adopted by the Senate on May
Secretary of the Senate

Governor