H.C.R. No. 165

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Longview and Gregg County are 2 gathering in Austin to celebrate Longview/Gregg County Days at the 3 State Capitol on March 27 and 28, 2007; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

Jackie Wood; and

WHEREAS, Present in the chamber on this occasion are the following dignitaries from Gregg County: Longview City Councilman Sidney Allen, Paul Anderson, Lisa Benson, Longview City Councilman John Bolster, Tony Cain, Suzanne Cook, Longview Mayor Jay Dean, Joe Derouen, Chuck Ewings, Charles Farmer, Jo Lee Ferguson, Judy Freeman, Candice Gast, Kelly Hall, Laura Hill, Dr. Bill Holda, Keith Honey, Shirley Hook, Dietrich Johnson, Joel Johnson, Wilton Johnson, Gene Keenon, Richard Lazarus, Lester Lucy, Richard Manley, Jack Miller, Scott Owens, Debbie Sadler, Bill Simms, Jay Stokes, County Judge Bill Stoudt, Dennis Suiter, Gladewater Mayor John Paul Tallent, Elton Taylor, Linda Thomas, John Ussery, Lindsay Vanderbilt, White Oak Mayor Tim Vaughn, Cheryl Way, Lon Welton, and

WHEREAS, Once part of the hunting grounds of the Caddo tribe, this region became Gregg County on April 12, 1873, and was named after Confederate General John B. Gregg; Longview was designated as the county seat; and

21 WHEREAS, While the county's economy was originally founded on 22 cotton and corn, the discovery of oil transformed Longview and 23 Gregg County, with more than 3 billion barrels produced since 1931; 24 the Big Inch pipeline, running from Longview to New York City,

H.C.R. No. 165

- 1 helped win World War II by providing an uninterrupted supply of gas
- 2 and oil to U.S. armed forces; while the county remains an important
- 3 center for the petroleum industry, its diverse economy is also
- 4 founded on such key industries as the Texas Eastman Company,
- 5 LeTourneau, Inc., SITEL, and Trinity Industries; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Ideally situated in the Piney Woods of East Texas,
- 7 just north of the Sabine River, county seat Longview is home to
- 8 LeTourneau University, and the city's many cultural and historical
- 9 attractions include the Longview Museum of Fine Arts, the Gregg
- 10 County Historical Museum, and the R. G. LeTourneau Museum; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Since 1978, the Great Texas Balloon Race, which
- 12 attracts the best competitive balloon pilots in the world, has
- 13 taken place in Longview; other festivals in the county include the
- 14 annual Texas Shakespeare Festival in Kilgore, Roughneck Day
- 15 Festival every April in White Oak, and East Texas Gusher Days in
- 16 Gladewater; and
- WHEREAS, Blessed with scenic vistas, a rich heritage, and an
- 18 even brighter future, Gregg County is an outstanding region of the
- 19 Lone Star State and a fine place to live, work, and raise a family;
- 20 it is most fitting to pay tribute to the county and its citizens on
- 21 this occasion; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 23 hereby recognize March 27 and 28 as Longview/Gregg County Days at
- 24 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes
- 25 for an enjoyable and informative stay in Austin.

Merritt

H.C.R. No. 165

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Н	C	R	$N \cap$	165

				н.с.	R. No.	165
President of the Senate		S	peaker o	f the H	louse	
I certify that H.C.R. March 28, 2007, by a non-recor		was	adopted	by th	e House	on
	_	Ch	nief Cler	k of th	ne House	
I certify that H.C.R. March 28, 2007, by a viva-voce		was .	adopted	by the	Senate	on
		S	ecretary	of the	e Senate	
APPROVED: Date						
Governor						