By: Hilderbran H.C.R. No. 166

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The 80th Legislature of the State of Texas is 2 pleased to recognize April 3, 2007, as Texas Medal of Arts Awards

3 Day at the Capitol; and

4 WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards are presented by the

Texas Cultural Trust Council and pay tribute to Texans who have made

important contributions to a variety of artistic disciplines in the

7 state; and

5

6

9

10

13

17

8 WHEREAS, The arts enrich, educate, and broaden the lives of

citizens in our state, and these awards recognize and encourage the

development of the arts through personal achievement or unfailing

11 support; and

12 WHEREAS, The following individuals and institutions will be

presented medals for 2007: Walter Cronkite, Lifetime Achievement;

14 Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Dance; Dr. Paul Baker, Arts

15 Education; Sandra Brown, Literary Arts; Ornette Coleman, Music;

16 Diana and Bill Hobby, Individual Arts Patrons; Judith Ivey, Theatre

Arts; Jesus Morales, Visual Arts; Neiman Marcus, Corporate Arts

18 Patron; Sid W. Richardson Foundation, Foundation Arts Patron; and

19 Bill Wittliff, Multimedia; and

20 WHEREAS, The arts enhance the quality of life in Texas and add

21 to the rich cultural heritage of the state, and the artists and arts

22 patrons honored by the Texas Medal of Arts Awards help ensure the

23 future of the arts and arts education in our state; now, therefore,

24 be it

H.C.R. No. 166

- 1 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 2 hereby commend the recipients of the 2007 Texas Medal of Arts Awards
- 3 for their dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and,
- 4 be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for each
- 6 of them as an expression of esteem by the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives and Senate.