H.C.R. No. 169

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Governor's Commission for Women will mark its
- 2 40th anniversary on March 27, 2007, as we celebrate Women's History
- 3 Month; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Governor's Commission for Women was established
- 5 by executive order by Governor John Connally in 1967, and since that
- 6 time, Governors Connally, Smith, Briscoe, Clements, White,
- 7 Richards, Bush, and Perry have appointed women from around the
- 8 state to serve on the commission; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The commission has launched public awareness
- 10 campaigns, hosted workshops and conferences, conducted surveys,
- 11 helped establish local women's commissions throughout the state,
- 12 and honored outstanding women through the Texas Women's Hall of
- 13 Fame Awards; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In addition, it honors notable Texas women for their
- 15 service in fields such as the arts, athletics, business, education,
- and health through induction into the Texas Women's Hall of Fame;
- 17 and
- 18 WHEREAS, Inductees include former first ladies, astronauts,
- 19 entrepreneurs, and athletes, and in 2003, the commission
- 20 established a permanent exhibit at Texas Woman's University in
- 21 Denton to honor these outstanding women; and
- WHEREAS, The Governor's Commission for Women's 40th
- 23 anniversary is an important milestone and provides a perfect
- 24 opportunity to recognize former and current commission members and

H.C.R. No. 169

- 1 to pay tribute to the women members of the Texas Legislature; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 4 hereby commemorate the 40th anniversary of the Governor's
- 5 Commission for Women and extend sincere appreciation to the
- 6 commission's past and current members for their service to the
- 7 State of Texas.

Morrison

H.C.R. No. 169

Craddick	Gattis	Miles	
Allen	Geren	Miller	
Alonzo	Giddings	Moreno	
Anchia	Gonzales	Morrison	
Anderson	Gonzalez Toureilles	Mowery	
Aycock	Goolsby	Murphy	
Bailey	Guillen	Naishtat	
Berman	Haggerty	Noriega	
Bohac	Hamilton	O'Day	
Bolton	Hancock	Oliveira	
Bonnen	Hardcastle	Olivo	
Branch	Harless	Orr	
Brown of Kaufman	Harper-Brown	Ortiz, Jr.	
Brown of Brazos	Hartnett	Otto.	
Burnam	Heflin	Parker	
	Hernandez	Patrick	
Callegari Castro	Herrero	Paxton	
Chavez	Hilderbran		
	Hill	Pena	
Chisum		Phillips Pickett	
Christian	Hochberg		
Cohen	Hodge Homer	Pierson	
Coleman		Pitts	
Cook of Navarro	Hopson	Puente	
Cook of Colorado	Howard of Fort Bend	Quintanilla	
Corte	Howard of Travis	Raymond	
Crabb	Hughes	Riddle	
Creighton	Isett	Ritter	
Crownover	Jackson	Rodriguez	
Darby	Jones	Rose	
Davis of Harris	Keffer	Smith of Tarrant	
Davis of Dallas	King of Parker	Smith of Harris	
Delisi	King of Taylor	Smithee	
Deshotel	King of Zavala	Solomons	
Driver	Kolkhorst	Strama	
Dukes	Krusee_	Straus	
Dunnam	Kuempel	Swinford	
Dutton	Latham	Talton	
Eiland	Laubenberg	Taylor	
Eissler	Leibowitz	Thompson	
Elkins	Lucio III	Truitt	
England	Macias	Turner	
Escobar	Madden	Van Arsdale	
Farabee	Mallory Caraway	Vaught	
Farias	Martinez	Veasey	
Farrar	Martinez Fischer	Villarreal	
Flores	McCall	Vo	
Flynn	McClendon	West	
Frost	McReynolds	Woolley	
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler	
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas	

Н	C	R	$N \cap$	169

		н.С.Р	(NO .	169
President of the Senate	 Speaker o	f the Ho	ouse	
I certify that H.C.R. March 27, 2007, by a non-record	was adopted	by the	House	on
, , , ,				
	Chief Cler	k of th	e House	
I certify that H.C.R. March 27, 2007, by a viva-voce	vas adopted	by the	Senate	on
	 Secretary	of the	Senate	
APPROVED:Date				
Governor				