H.C.R. No. 175

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The year 2007 commemorates the 173rd anniversary of

the founding of Shiloh Cumberland Presbyterian Church; and

3 WHEREAS, Organized by the Reverend Milton Estill in 1833,

Shiloh was the first Cumberland Presbyterian Church to be

established in Texas, about six miles northeast of the present-day

6 town of Clarksville; and

2

4

5

8

9

10

11

12

14

16

17

18

7 WHEREAS, Three Shiloh congregants--Richard Ellis, Robert

Hamilton, and Albert Hamilton Latimer--were among the men who

signed the Texas Declaration of Independence in 1836; other early

families of the church were the Watsons, Fultons, Dinwiddies, and

Bledsoes; today's membership roll reflects the involvement of

descendants of the church's founders and early worshipers; and

WHEREAS, The Reverend Samuel Corley was the first regular

pastor at Shiloh, and those who subsequently took on that role

include a Reverend Johnson and a Reverend Matlock; several women

also provided valuable leadership to the congregation, including

Bessie C. Morris, an ordained minister from the Methodist

Protestant Church, Mabelle Robison of the Ozark Presbytery, and Ada

19 Slayton from the Louisiana Presbytery; and

20 WHEREAS, Since before Texas became a republic, Shiloh

21 Cumberland Presbyterian Church has provided inspiration, hope,

22 comfort, and guidance to families living in the Clarksville area,

23 and it is fitting that it be recognized for the vital role it has

24 played in the lives of generations of Texans; now, therefore, be it

H.C.R. No. 175

- 1 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 2 hereby congratulate Shiloh Cumberland Presbyterian Church on its
- 3 173rd anniversary and extend to all those affiliated with the
- 4 church best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives and Senate.

Homer

	_			
н	\mathcal{C}	R	$N \cap$	175

	H.C.R. NO. 1/5
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. I	No. 175 was adopted by the House on d vote.
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No 2, 2007, by a viva-voce vote.	. 175 was adopted by the Senate on May
APPROVED:	Secretary of the Senate
Date	
Governor	