By: Homer

H.C.R. No. 175

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The year 2007 commemorates the 173rd anniversary of
the founding of Shiloh Cumberland Presbyterian Church; and

3 WHEREAS, Organized by the Reverend Milton Estill in 1833, 4 Shiloh was the first Cumberland Presbyterian Church to be 5 established in Texas, about six miles northeast of the present-day 6 town of Clarksville; and

7 WHEREAS, Three Shiloh congregants--Richard Ellis, Robert 8 Hamilton, and Albert Hamilton Latimer--were among the men who 9 signed the Texas Declaration of Independence in 1836; other early 10 families of the church were the Watsons, Fultons, Dinwiddies, and 11 Bledsoes; today's membership roll reflects the involvement of 12 descendants of the church's founders and early worshipers; and

WHEREAS, The Reverend Samuel Corley was the first regular pastor at Shiloh, and those who subsequently took on that role include a Reverend Johnson and a Reverend Matlock; several women also provided valuable leadership to the congregation, including Bessie C. Morris, an ordained minister from the Methodist Protestant Church, Mabelle Robison of the Ozark Presbytery, and Ada Slayton from the Louisiana Presbytery; and

20 WHEREAS, Since before Texas became a republic, Shiloh 21 Cumberland Presbyterian Church has provided inspiration, hope, 22 comfort, and guidance to families living in the Clarksville area, 23 and it is fitting that it be recognized for the vital role it has 24 played in the lives of generations of Texans; now, therefore, be it

1

H.C.R. No. 175

1 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas 2 hereby congratulate Shiloh Cumberland Presbyterian Church on its 3 173rd anniversary and extend to all those affiliated with the 4 church best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives and Senate.