H.C.R. No. 184

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Residents of Marshall are gathering at the State
- 2 Capitol on April 4, 2007, to celebrate the contributions of their
- 3 fair city to the Lone Star State; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Located near the Texas-Louisiana border in the
- 5 beautiful rolling hills of East Texas, the city was named in honor
- 6 of Chief Justice John Marshall and has served as the seat of
- 7 Harrison County since 1842; and
- 8 WHEREAS, By 1860, Marshall had become one of the largest and
- 9 wealthiest towns in the region, and its success was due in large
- 10 part to the railway system that supported the town's commercial and
- industrial development and sizable agricultural industry; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Today, blessed with an abundance of red and white
- 13 clay, residents of Marshall have built a flourishing ceramics
- 14 industry, with 12 wholesale pottery manufacturers, five retail
- outlets, and countless talented artisans; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The city has long been considered an educational
- 17 center for East Texas, as it is home to three institutions of higher
- 18 learning: East Texas Baptist University, Texas State Technical
- 19 College, and Wiley College; and
- WHEREAS, For many years, citizens of Marshall have
- 21 demonstrated a deep commitment to preserving their heritage as
- 22 evidenced by the Ginocchio National Historic District, which
- 23 features one of the state's finest examples of Victorian hotel
- 24 architecture, the 1896 Ginocchio Hotel; the city is also the site of

H.C.R. No. 184

- 1 the Texas and Pacific Depot, the Allen House, the Weisman Center,
- 2 and the Harrison County Historical Museum, all of which contribute
- 3 to a revitalized downtown area; and
- WHEREAS, Supporting a thriving arts community as well, the
- 5 city is aided by the Marshall Regional Arts Council, which has
- 6 presented lively seasons of performances to residents and tourists
- 7 alike for the past two decades; the Michelson Museum of Art, the
- 8 Marshall Symphony, and the Marshall Visual Arts Center all
- 9 contribute to the cultural vibrancy of this remarkable East Texas
- 10 city; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Marshall was named an All-American City by the
- 12 National Municipal League in 1976, and the city's residents remain
- 13 justifiably proud of this prestigious honor as they continue their
- 14 efforts to preserve the city's rich history while preparing for a
- 15 bright and promising future; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 17 hereby recognize April 4, 2007, as Marshall Day at the State Capitol
- and extend to all those who are visiting sincere best wishes for an
- 19 enjoyable and informative trip to the State Capitol.

Hughes

## H.C.R. No. 184

		11.0.1(. 1
Craddick	Gattis	Miles
Allen	Geren	Miller
Alonzo	Giddings	Moreno
Anchia	Gonzales	Morrison
Anderson	Gonzalez Toureilles	Mowery
Aycock	Goolsby	Murphy
Bailey	Guillen	Naishtat
Berman	Haggerty	Noriega
Bohac	Hamilton	O'Day
Bolton	Hancock	Oliveira
Bonnen	Hardcastle	Olivo
Branch	Harless	Orr
Brown of Kaufman		
Brown of Brazos	Harper-Brown	Ortiz, Jr.
	Hartnett Heflin	Otto Parker
Burnam		
Callegari	Hernandez	Patrick
Castro	Herrero	Paxton
Chavez	Hilderbran	Pena
Chisum	Hill	Phillips
Christian	Hochberg	Pickett
Cohen	Hodge	Pierson
Coleman	Homer	Pitts
Cook of Navarro	Hopson	Puente
Cook of Colorado	Howard of Fort Bend	Quintanilla
Corte	Howard of Travis	Raymond
Crabb	Hughes	Riddle
Creighton	Isett	Ritter
Crownover	Jackson	Rodriguez
Darby	Jones	Rose
Davis of Harris	Keffer	Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas	King of Parker	Smith of Harris
Delisi	King of Taylor	Smithee
Deshotel	King of Zavala	Solomons
Driver	Kolkhorst	Strama
Dukes	Krusee	Straus
Dunnam	Kuempel	Swinford
Dutton	Latham	Talton
Eiland	Laubenberg	Taylor
Eissler	Leibowitz	Thompson
Elkins	Lucio III	Truitt
England	Macias	Turner
Escobar	Madden	Van Arsdale
Farabee	Mallory Caraway	Vaught
Farias	Martinez	Veasey
Farrar	Martinez Fischer	Villarreal
Flores	$M \circ C \circ 1 1$	770

Vo

West Woolley

Zedler Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Flores

Flynn Frost

Gallego Garcia

	$\sim$	_	3.7	101
Н	('	R	$N \cap$	184

				Н	.C.F	R. No.	184
President of the Senate		S	peaker o	of th	ne Ho	ouse	
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 184	was	adopted	by	the	House	on
April 4, 2007, by a non-record	d vote.						
		Cł	nief Clei	rk o	f the	e House	
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 184	was	adopted	by	the	Senate	on
April 4, 2007, by a viva-voce	vote.						
		S	ecretary	y of	the	Senate	
APPROVED:							
Date							
Governor							