H.C.R. No. 190

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Founded in 1997, the Greater Austin Crime Commission 2 has contributed to the quality of life in Central Texas with

has contributed to the quality of life in Central Texas with innovative and outstanding public safety programs such as the

4 Longhorn Leaders; and

3

6

8

9

12

13

14

16

17

21

5 WHEREAS, Developed by the commission and The University of

Texas School of Social Work, in cooperation with the UT Athletic

7 Department and the Austin Independent School District, the Longhorn

Leaders youth outreach program facilitates dialogue between

university athletes and seventh grade students; and

WHEREAS, Middle school youth are at a crucial developmental point as they prepare to transition into later adolescence and

early adulthood, and at the same time, they face a variety of new

stressors, from stronger peer influences to greater access to drugs

and alcohol; positive reference groups, however, can go a long way

15 in counteracting potential negative forces, and university

athletes are especially effective role models because of their

visibility in college sports and their proximity in age to the

18 students; and

19 WHEREAS, During the course of a semester, Longhorn Leaders

20 give several personal presentations at each school, emphasizing the

importance of strong goals, academic excellence, and successful

22 life skills; moreover, they promote the values of teamwork,

23 discipline, and living drug-free; athletes receive course credit

24 for participating in the program, which, since fall 2003, has been

H.C.R. No. 190

- 1 offered at seven middle schools and three elementary schools in
- 2 areas all over Austin; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Current and former Longhorn Leaders include
- 4 LaMarcus Aldridge, D. J. Augustin, Cedric Benson, Jamaal Charles,
- 5 Kevin Durant, Daniel Gibson, Cedric Griffin, Michael Griffin,
- 6 Damion James, Seth Johnson, Derek Lokey, Cory Redding, Terrence
- 7 Rencher, Sonya Richards, Aaron Ross, Kasey Studdard, Limas Sweed,
- 8 Roy Williams, and Vince Young, to name but a few; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Encouraging meaningful community interaction
- 10 between UT athletes, students, parents, teachers, and law
- 11 enforcement, the Longhorn Leaders program has benefited countless
- 12 participants, and the Greater Austin Crime Commission is truly
- 13 deserving of recognition for its exemplary efforts to support
- 14 public safety and youth development; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 16 hereby congratulate the Greater Austin Crime Commission on its 10th
- 17 anniversary and commend all those associated with it for their work
- 18 to develop and implement public safety programs such as the
- 19 Longhorn Leaders; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for the Greater Austin Crime Commission as an expression
- of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Strama

H.C.R. No. 190

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr.
Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby	Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones	Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose
Dariby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler

TT	\sim	D	NT o	190
Н	('	R	$N \cap$	190

				П	. C . K	. NO.	190
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House						
I certify that H.C.R. April 16, 2007, by a non-record		was	adopted	l by	the	House	on
		Cł	nief Cle	rk o	f the	e House	
I certify that H.C.R. April 16, 2007, by a viva-voce		was	adopted	by	the	Senate	on
		S	ecretar	y of	the	Senate	
APPROVED:Date	-						
Governor	-						