H.C.R. No. 226

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Smith County lost a trusted law 2 enforcement officer on June 7, 2006, when Constable Dale David 3 Geddie was killed in the line of duty at the age of 45; and

WHEREAS, Born on August 19, 1960, to Otis and Sandra Geddie, 4 5 Dale Geddie graduated from Winona High School in 1979; following in the footsteps of his father, a former Smith County sheriff's 6 deputy, he pursued a law enforcement career as a jailer with the 7 Smith County Sheriff's Office; in 1986, he 8 graduated as valedictorian from the East Texas Police Academy at Kilgore College 9 and subsequently transferred to the Criminal Investigations 10 11 Division as a deputy investigator; he served as a patrol officer, a 12 patrol sergeant, and an undercover narcotics officer before leaving 13 law enforcement in 1996 for other endeavors, including opening the 14 Loveday-Geddie Private Investigations and Polygraph Service; and

15 WHEREAS, Less than a decade later, Mr. Geddie signed on as a reserve deputy for Smith County and soon decided to enter his first 16 political race as a 2004 candidate for constable of Precinct 4; 17 campaigning on the promise to revitalize the office, he easily won 18 the majority vote and set about working to fulfill his oath; his 19 brief term was marked by steady activity and a persistent effort to 20 21 prevent and address crime; he was known for his meticulous 22 documentation of each case and for his calm and brave leadership that inspired his fellow officers; and 23

24 WHEREAS, Constable Geddie was a member of numerous

1

H.C.R. No. 226

professional organizations, including the Fraternal Order of Police, the Smith County Peace Officers Association, the Sheriffs' Association of Texas, the Justices of the Peace and Constables Association of Texas, the East Texas Peace Officers Association, and the Children's Advocacy Center of Smith County; and

6 WHEREAS, A devoted husband, father, and son, he was a man of 7 deep faith and a valued member of the First Baptist Church of 8 Winona; and

9 WHEREAS, Although his journey on this earth ended far too 10 soon, Dale Geddie will long be remembered for his courage, his 11 integrity, and his genuine dedication to the people of Smith 12 County; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas 13 hereby pay tribute to the life of Constable Dale David Geddie and 14 15 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Leisa Geddie; to his son, Justin Geddie; to his stepson, Jake 16 17 Woodall; to his parents, Otis and Sandra Geddie; to his sister, Kathy Watson; to his uncle, Freddie Germany; to his nieces, Julie 18 Burleyson and Carol and Melissa Johnston; and to his other 19 relatives and many friends; and, be it further 20

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives and Senate adjourn this day, they do so in memory of Constable Dale David Geddie.

> Merritt Berman Flynn

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.C.R. No. 226

Miles

H.C.R. No. 226

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 226 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 1, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 226 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the Senate on May 1, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor