H.C.R. No. 235

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Sergeant Brian J. Burzynski of the Texas Ranger
Division of the Department of Public Safety has rendered
exceptional service to the residents of this state through his
decisive efforts to investigate allegations of abuse at a Texas
Youth Commission facility; and

WHEREAS, Alerted to a potential situation taking place at the West Texas State School in Pyote, Sergeant Burzynski conducted an investigation and set in motion events that would ultimately bring the matter out into the open; in so doing, he contacted local, state, and federal authorities and delivered compelling testimony before the Joint Select Committee on the Operation and Management of the Texas Youth Commission; and

WHEREAS, Sergeant Burzynski's determined pursuit of justice in this case is in keeping with the skill and dedication that he has demonstrated throughout his career; a military veteran, he joined the U.S. Army in 1989 as an intelligence analyst and, over the next four years, served in Germany, in Saudi Arabia during Desert Shield, in Iraq and Kuwait during Desert Storm, and finally in the Foreign Material Intelligence Battalion at Aberdeen Proving Ground in Maryland; following his military service, he enrolled in the Panhandle Regional Law Enforcement Academy, where he earned the Walter Eubanks outstanding graduate award in 1995; he subsequently spent four years with the Hereford Police Department, rising to the rank of detective, and was named the 1997 Officer of the Year; and

H.C.R. No. 235

1 WHEREAS, In 2000, Sergeant Burzynkski graduated from the
2 Department of Public Safety Academy and joined the Highway Patrol
3 Division, where he received numerous awards for his service; in
4 2004, his performance won him a place among the elite ranks of the
5 Texas Rangers, and in 2006, he was awarded the Master Peace Officer
6 designation, which honors the completion of 4,000 hours of law
7 enforcement training; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

21

22

23

WHEREAS, During his testimony before the joint select committee, Sergeant Burzynski recalled his interviews with the young men who had suffered abuse at the TYC facility: "I promised each one of those victims that I would not fail them," Sergeant Burzynski stated; in keeping that vow and pursuing justice, Brian Burzynski has proven himself a law enforcement officer of great determination and integrity, and it is a pleasure to recognize him for his outstanding service to the State of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
hereby honor Sergeant Brian J. Burzynski of the Texas Rangers and
extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Sergeant Burzynski as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Madden McReynolds Turner Riddle Phillips

H.C.R. No. 235

| Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego | Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez | Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler |
|---|--|--|
| Garcia | Merritt | Zerwas |

| Presid | lent of the Senate | | | Speaker of the Hous | e |
|-----------|----------------------|---------|-----|-----------------------|----------|
| Ιce | ertify that H.C.R. N | No. 235 | was | adopted by the House | on May |
| 14, 2007, | by a non-record vote | e. | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | Chief Clerk of the H | ouse |
| I ce | ertify that H.C.R. N | o. 235 | was | adopted by the Senate | e on May |
| 15, 2007, | by a viva-voce vote | • | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | | | Secretary of the Se | nate |
| APPROVED: | | | | | |
| | Date | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | Governor | | | | |