## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The bedrock of liberty is a free press, and Nate
Blakeslee of the *Texas Observer* and Doug Swanson of *The Dallas*Morning News exemplify the finest characteristics of responsible,
diligent journalism; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Observer and The Dallas Morning News broke the story that led to the complete transformation of the Texas Youth Commission; their revelations of abuses in the West Texas State School brought the entire Texas Legislature to its feet, and their continuous, in-depth reporting fueled the momentum needed to produce a comprehensive legislative reform package; and

WHEREAS, Democracy depends on open government, and it is said that the media act as the fourth branch of government; through their reporting, Mr. Blakeslee and Mr. Swanson have indeed contributed to an open and effective democratic process; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby honor Nate "Tex" Blakeslee of the *Texas Observer* and Doug Swanson of *The Dallas Morning News* and extend to them sincere gratitude and best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Mr. Blakeslee and Mr. Swanson as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Madden

## H.C.R. No. 250

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Presid	lent of the Senate			Speaker of the House
	ertify that H.C.R. No.	250	was	adopted by the House on May
14, 2007,	by a non-record voce.			
				Chief Clerk of the House
	ertify that H.C.R. No. by a viva-voce vote.	250 τ	was	adopted by the Senate on May
		-	, , , ,	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:				
	Date			
	Governor			