H.C.R. No. 251

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Legislature relies heavily on advocates and experts to inform policy-making decisions, and Ana Yanez Correa and Marc Levin have made indispensable contributions to our deliberations regarding juvenile justice and criminal justice in general; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Correa is the executive director of the Texas Criminal Justice Coalition; committed to identifying and working toward real solutions to the problems facing the Texas criminal justice system, the coalition identifies and educates supporters using cost-effective and innovative tools, partners with organizations and associations who share their core beliefs, and promotes evidence-based criminal justice solutions that embody the principles of effective management, accountability, public safety, religious tenets, and human and civil rights; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Levin is the director of the Center for Effective Justice at the Texas Public Policy Foundation; TPPF is a nonpartisan research institute guided by the core principles of individual liberty, personal responsibility, private property rights, free markets, and limited government; the foundation's mission is to improve Texas by generating academically sound research and data on state issues, and by recommending the findings to opinion leaders, policy-makers, the media, and the general public; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Criminal Justice Coalition and the Center

H.C.R. No. 251

- 1 for Effective Justice have developed policy proposals in the areas
- 2 of sentencing, probation, and parole, focusing on nonviolent
- 3 offenders that protect public safety while eliminating the need to
- 4 build new prisons; such reforms include treatment instead of
- 5 incarceration for nonviolent drug offenders, the reduction of
- 6 technical probation and parole revocations, and victim-offender
- 7 mediation for nonviolent, first-time property offenses; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Ms. Correa's passion for justice is infectious and
- 9 her tenacity is unstoppable; Mr. Levin's intellect is unparalleled
- 10 and his research is impeccable; both bring crucial credibility, and
- 11 their combined contributions to the legislative process will
- 12 favorably enhance the way this state approaches matters of public
- 13 safety and criminal justice policy; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 15 hereby honor Ana Yanez Correa and Marc Levin and extend to them
- sincere gratitude and best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 17 further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for Ms. Correa and Mr. Levin as an expression of high
- 20 regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Madden

H.C.R. No. 251

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No.	251 was adopted by the House on May
14, 2007, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 22, 2007, by a viva-voce vote.	251 was adopted by the Senate on May
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	