H.C.R. No. 252

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Isela Gutierrez and Will Harrell have championed the 2 struggle for social justice, and their actions have resulted in a 3 positive change for this state; and

WHEREAS, Serving as coordinator of the Texas Coalition 4 5 Advocating Justice for Juveniles since February 2006, Ms. Gutierrez 6 is a principal advocate in exposing to the Texas Legislature the structural flaws of and abuses occurring within the Texas Youth 7 Commission; in August 2006, she appeared before the Senate Criminal 8 Justice Committee interim hearing in McAllen, issuing visionary 9 demands for reform that ultimately were included in S.B. 103; 10 11 throughout the 80th legislative session, she has been a constant 12 and effective voice for reform and an indispensable expert resource 13 for staff and members; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Harrell, co-chair of the Texas Coalition 14 Advocating Justice for Juveniles and executive director of the 15 American Civil Liberties Union of Texas, has been an indefatigable 16 advocate for the rights of incarcerated Texans since the 77th 17 legislative session; as one of the most effective voices for civil 18 rights in the Texas Legislature for the past seven years, he has 19 20 worked to encourage passage of the racial profiling law, the Fair 21 Defense Act, and the "Tulia bills"; his expertise in Texas 22 government and his relationships on both sides of the aisle have helped to put the reform concepts of Ms. Gutierrez into legislative 23 24 motion; and

1

## H.C.R. No. 252

WHEREAS, Together, they have garnered the critical support 1 and political clout of the Texas League of United Latin American 2 Citizens and the Texas Conference of the NAACP, which Mr. Harrell 3 has represented throughout the process; Ms. Gutierrez has shared 4 5 her leadership with the Texas Criminal Justice Coalition, and this 6 valued organization has in turn provided its vital expertise, network of supporters, and guidance; moreover, Mr. Harrell and Ms. 7 8 Gutierrez were able to ensure that the Texas Legislature heard the voices of parents whose children have been in TYC and of formerly 9 10 incarcerated youths; and

11 WHEREAS, Ms. Gutierrez and Mr. Harrell have served as vital 12 resources for the legislature in its efforts to address the 13 problems of the Texas Youth Commission, and they are most deserving 14 of special commendation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby honor Isela Gutierrez and Will Harrell and extend to them sincere gratitude and best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

19 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 20 for Ms. Gutierrez and Mr. Harrell as an expression of high regard by 21 the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Madden

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler

Zerwas

## H.C.R. No. 252

Miles

Miller

H.C.R. No. 252

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 252 was adopted by the House on May 14, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 252 was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2007, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor