H.C.R. No. 280

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Dr. Charles Florio will retire as president of Northeast Texas Community College in Mount Pleasant in early summer 2008, concluding an outstanding record of professional service; and WHEREAS, A 45-year veteran of higher education, Dr. Florio came to NTCC in May 1995 as interim president and was named president seven months later; during his noteworthy tenure, the longest in the school's history, he has worked to establish strong relationships with community leaders and to develop NTCC outreach programs that now reach thousands of Northeast Texans; he is respected and admired by board members, faculty, and staff alike for his tireless efforts to advance the college and its mission; and WHEREAS, Through the years, Dr. Florio has enjoyed the love and support of his wife, Sue Lynn, with whom he is looking forward to exploring the opportunities that await on the other side of retirement; and WHEREAS, Northeast Texas Community College has benefited immensely from the dedication and vision that Dr. Charles Florio has brought to the office of president, and it is indeed fitting that he be honored for his exceptional endeavors in behalf of higher education; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby congratulate Dr. Charles Florio on his upcoming retirement

from Northeast Texas Community College and commend him for his many

years of service as NTCC president; and, be it further

H.C.R. No. 280

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Dr. Florio as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives and Senate.

Homer

## H.C.R. No. 280

Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 26, 2007, by a non-record vote.	280 was adopted by the House on May
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 27, 2007, by a viva-voce vote.	280 was adopted by the Senate on May
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	