By: Garcia H.R. No. 7

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Sheriffs' Association of Texas has established the Texas Peacemaker Award to pay tribute to law enforcement professionals who have exemplified, over the course of their careers, an extraordinary devotion to the public good and to the communities they have served; and

WHEREAS, Established in honor of the late Tieman H. Dippel, who served as sheriff of Washington County from 1940 to 1961, this prestigious accolade is given to a peace officer who has endeavored to bring out the best in people, to recognize the dignity of others, and to serve as a role model and mentor for the younger generation of law enforcement officers; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Peacemaker Award recipient for 2005 was Aransas County Sheriff's Office Chief Deputy Rick McLester; Chief Deputy McLester is a native of Aransas County who has worked for the county for more than 25 years; he is a past fire chief and lifetime member of the Rockport Volunteer Fire Department; he is also an active member and past president of the Rockport Lions Club; and

WHEREAS, The high standard of living enjoyed by Texans is made possible by the brave men and women who put their lives in harm's way each day they serve on duty in Lone Star neighborhoods and roadways, and the citizens of Texas join together in saluting the efforts of Rick McLester, recipient of the 2005 Texas Peacemaker Award, and the myriad contributions made by the officers and members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas; now, therefore,

H.R. No. 7

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commend the Sheriffs' Association of Texas on
- 4 its sponsorship of the Texas Peacemaker Award and congratulate the
- 5 2005 recipient of that award, Aransas County Sheriff's Office Chief
- 6 Deputy Rick McLester; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 8 for Chief Deputy McLester and for the Sheriffs' Association of
- 9 Texas as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 10 Representatives.