H.R. No. 22

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In December 2006, Brenda Marie Silva stepped down 2 from her position as the county and district clerk for Presidio 3 County, bringing a close to eight productive years in office; and

WHEREAS, Beginning her public service career in 1995, Ms. Silva worked as a part-time employee in the Presidio County treasurer's office and county clerk's office before accepting a position with the Presidio County Appraisal District the following year; and

9 WHEREAS, She began her first term as county and district 10 clerk in January 1999 after being elected by the Presidio County 11 voters; during her time in office, she has capably overseen the 12 county's records and completed her many other administrative 13 duties, as well as overseeing the county's elections; and

14 WHEREAS, A longtime West Texas resident, Ms. Silva is a 15 graduate of Marfa High School and attended college at Sul Ross State 16 University; and

WHEREAS, In August 1999, she wed Joel Bentley, and they are now the proud parents of a daughter, Bryanna, and a son, Andru; having decided to focus her energies on her family, Marie Silva has concluded her service as the county and district clerk, but she may take justifiable pride in her years as an elected official and her dedicated efforts to assist the citizens of Presidio County; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

Legislature hereby honor Brenda Marie Silva for her distinguished service as the county and district clerk for Presidio County and extend to her best wishes for success in her future endeavors; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Silva as an expression of high regard from the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 22

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Fischer Martinez McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 22

H.R. No. 22

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 22 was adopted by the House on February 19, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House