H.R. No. 54

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Each year on the third Monday of January, schools, federal agencies, post offices, and banks across the United States close their doors in honor and in memory of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.; and

5 WHEREAS, The birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., often 6 called "Martin Luther King Day," became a federal holiday when 7 President Ronald Reagan signed historic legislation in 1983 and was 8 observed for the first time on January 20, 1986; and

9 WHEREAS, In 2007, the holiday will be celebrated on Monday, 10 January 15, and most state legislatures will observe Martin Luther 11 King Day as an official paid holiday for state employees, according 12 to the National Conference of State Legislatures; and

WHEREAS, It is fitting that Texas join other state legislatures in paying tribute to the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., a civil rights leader who dedicated his life to human freedom and dignity, by not meeting on the legal holiday for the observance of his birthday; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 19 Legislature hereby declare that it will not meet on Monday, January 20 15, 2007, in observance of Martin Luther King Day.

Giddings

1

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 54

H.R. No. 54

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 54 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on January 11, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House