H.R. No. 56

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The distinguished career of a longtime public 2 servant came to a close when the Honorable Donald Clyde Creager 3 stepped down from his position as county judge for Loving County in 4 December 2006; and

5 WHEREAS, The longest-serving county judge in Texas, Judge 6 Creager was an elected official for more than four decades; he began his service to the residents of Loving County after winning 7 election to the commissioners court in 1962, and he held that office 8 9 until 1973, when he was appointed as the replacement for the retiring county judge; this began his 33-year tenure presiding over 10 11 the commissioners court, with county voters repeatedly returning 12 him to office; and

13 WHEREAS, This enterprising leader has overseen a number of 14 important initiatives during his years as county judge; he helped 15 secure the restoration of the historic courthouse in Mentone in the late 1970s and has worked with the commissioners to add and renovate 16 essential facilities and equipment; in addition, he championed the 17 18 successful effort to pipe water to township residents and an ongoing project to provide water to all households in the county; 19 20 and

21 WHEREAS, An important voice on the Permian Basin Regional 22 Planning Commission for 18 years, Judge Creager served as the 23 secretary-treasurer of the organization's board of directors in 24 1996, vice-chairman in 1997, and chairman in 1998 and has also been

1

H.R. No. 56

1 a member of the board of directors for the Texas Association of 2 Regional Councils; his other civic and professional activities have 3 included committee assignments for the County Judges and 4 Commissioners Association of Texas and an eight-year tenure on the 5 board of trustees for the West Texas Centers for MHMR; and

6 WHEREAS, Donald Creager's committed service has benefited 7 from the many years he has spent in West Texas; arriving in Loving 8 County with his family as a teenager, he learned his first lessons 9 in public service from his father, Earl O. Creager, who served as 10 county judge; after a four-year tour of duty in the U.S. Air Force, 11 Donald Creager returned to the Mentone area and with his wife, 12 Leila, raised three daughters; and

WHEREAS, Inspired by an abiding concern for his fellow citizens, Judge Donald Creager has helped guide Loving County government for nearly a half-century, and he may reflect with justifiable pride on the legacy of achievement he has established; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 19 Legislature hereby honor Judge Donald Clyde Creager for his long 20 and accomplished career as a commissioner and county judge in 21 Loving County and extend to him best wishes for success in his 22 future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Judge Creager as an expression of high regard from the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 56

H.R. No. 56

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 56 was adopted by the House on April 5, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House