H.R. No. 76

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The family and friends of U.S. Navy Petty Officer 2 2nd Class Charles Victor Komppa of Absarokee, Montana, suffered an 3 immeasurable loss with the death of this valiant soldier on October 4 25, 2006, at the age of 35; and

5 WHEREAS, A combat electrician with the 3rd Naval Construction 6 Regiment, Petty Officer Komppa was killed when a roadside bomb 7 struck his convoy in the Al Anbar province of Iraq; and

WHEREAS, This native Texan was born in Conroe on September 8 24, 1971, and attended Ingram Tom Moore High School, where he was a 9 member of the football and cross-country teams; soon after his 1990 10 11 graduation, he joined the Navy and went on to serve in Operation 12 Desert Storm before receiving an honorable discharge in 1995; he subsequently earned a diploma in construction electricity from 13 14 Minnesota State Community and Technical College and completed an electrical apprenticeship at Leister Electric in Livingston, 15 Montana; he was later employed as an electrician at the Stillwater 16 17 Mining Company; and

18 WHEREAS, Petty Officer Komppa enlisted in the U.S. Navy 19 Seabees Reserves in 2003 and reenlisted three years later; he was 20 deployed to Operation Iraqi Freedom in September 2006; and

21 WHEREAS, A devoted husband and father, Chuck Komppa shared 22 more than 15 years with his wife, Delisa, and took great pleasure in 23 sharing his love for the outdoors with their children, Alicia and 24 Gary, on fishing, hunting, and camping expeditions; Officer Komppa 25 was also a faithful member of Absarokee Evangelical Church and was

1

H.R. No. 76

1 kno

known for his generosity and kindness toward others; and

2 WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have men and 3 women whose love for their country inspires them to volunteer for 4 military service, yet the tragic death of this exemplary man is a 5 sobering reminder of the cost of war; Chuck Komppa embodied the 6 highest ideals of the armed services, and his bravery and sacrifice 7 will never be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 8 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of U.S. Navy Petty 9 Officer 2nd Class Charles Victor Komppa and extend sincere sympathy 10 to the members of his family: to his wife, Delisa Komppa; to his 11 children, Alicia and Gary Komppa; to his father, Gary Komppa; to his 12 mother, Margaret Martin, and her husband, Chuck; to his brother, 13 14 Steven Komppa, and his wife, Tracy; to his sister, Senia Carlson; to 15 his grandparents, Charles and Helen Bradshaw; to his brother-in-law, Dawayne Dewey, and his wife, Yvonne; to his 16 17 sisters-in-law, Darla Carroll and her husband, Mark, and Delores Brown; to his nephews and nieces, McKinna, Steven, Gaige, Kyle, 18 19 Keith, Clancie, Jessica, Weston, and Donovan; to his mother-in-law, Gayle McIntyre, and her husband, Dick; to his father-in-law, Ken 20 21 Dewey; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further 22

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Charles Victor Komppa.

Hilderbran

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 76

H.R. No. 76

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 76 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 1, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House