H.R. No. 118

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of the 2006-2007 BEST Leadership class are 2 visiting the State Capitol to gain further insight into the 3 workings of state government; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Bastrop, Elgin, and Smithville 4 5 Chambers of Commerce, this exceptional program provides 6 opportunities for participants to increase their knowledge of vital public issues and to meet with the leaders who are making decisions 7 that affect their communities; and 8

9 WHEREAS, Sessions throughout the yearlong program are 10 designed to acquaint participants with local issues and to 11 encourage them to become vigorous, skilled, and effective leaders 12 who will contribute to the future growth and direction of their 13 communities; and

14 WHEREAS, Working in conjunction with Susan Weems Wendel, 15 president and CEO of the Bastrop Chamber of Commerce, members of 16 this year's BEST Leadership class include Genese Bell, Virginia 17 Caudle, Gena Carter, Greg Deters, Jaime Eichorst, Terry Fowler, 18 Michel Garvie, Joann Harkins, Scott Martin, Trisha Miley, Allison 19 Murray, Caroline Parobek, Janis Penick, Alfred Revetta, Alma 20 Rodriguez, Gwendolyn Watkins, and Jolene Wells; and

21 WHEREAS, Endeavoring to foster a more informed and involved 22 citizenry and to develop new leaders in Bastrop County, the program 23 is helping to build a brighter and more promising future for the 24 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 118

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 2 Legislature hereby welcome BEST Leadership to the State Capitol and 3 extend to all participants sincere best wishes for continued 4 success; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for BEST Leadership as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Cook of Colorado

H.R. No. 118

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 118 was adopted by the House on January 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House