By: Cook of Colorado

H.R. No. 118

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the 2006-2007 BEST Leadership class are 1 2

visiting the State Capitol to gain further insight into the

3 workings of state government; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Bastrop, Elgin, and Smithville 4

Chambers of Commerce, this exceptional program

opportunities for participants to increase their knowledge of vital

public issues and to meet with the leaders who are making decisions

that affect their communities; and 8

9 WHEREAS, Sessions throughout the yearlong program

designed to acquaint participants with local issues and to

encourage them to become vigorous, skilled, and effective leaders

who will contribute to the future growth and direction of their

13 communities; and

5

6

7

10

11

12

20

14 WHEREAS, Working in conjunction with Susan Weems Wendel,

president and CEO of the Bastrop Chamber of Commerce, members of 15

this year's BEST Leadership class include Genese Bell, Virginia 16

Caudle, Gena Carter, Greg Deters, Jaime Eichorst, Terry Fowler, 17

18 Michel Garvie, Joann Harkins, Scott Martin, Trisha Miley, Allison

Murray, Caroline Parobek, Janis Penick, Alfred Revetta, Alma 19

Rodriguez, Gwendolyn Watkins, and Jolene Wells; and

21 WHEREAS, Endeavoring to foster a more informed and involved

22 citizenry and to develop new leaders in Bastrop County, the program

23 is helping to build a brighter and more promising future for the

24 Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 118

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby welcome BEST Leadership to the State Capitol and
- 3 extend to all participants sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for BEST Leadership as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.