H.R. No. 120

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Reneé McGuire of Pearland is deservedly being
honored as Philanthropist of the Year by the Community Foundation
of Brazoria County; and

WHEREAS, The Philanthropist of the Year award was created to honor citizens who have contributed greatly to their communities, and Mrs. McGuire has selflessly devoted her time, assets, and efforts to making life better for others; and

8 WHEREAS, In 2001, this esteemed businesswoman founded the 9 nonprofit, Forgotten Angels, which helps children with special 10 needs and their families; she serves as CEO of the organization 11 without compensation; and

12 WHEREAS, Mrs. McGuire has given generously of herself, 13 volunteering thousands of hours of her time, donating more than 14 \$3.5 million, and using her real estate development experience to 15 provide 12 residential group homes for children and adults with 16 special needs; and

WHEREAS, Today, Forgotten Angels provides an environment of exceptional care and support through both group homes and a day habilitation program, giving individuals with mental and physical disabilities the means and encouragement to reach their full potential; and

22 WHEREAS, By using her gifts and talents to lighten and enrich 23 the lives of others, this benevolent lady has found it truly more 24 blessed to give than receive, and she recognizes the endless love

1

H.R. No. 120

she has gotten from those she helps as her greatest reward; and 1 2 WHEREAS, Her generosity and compassion have touched many 3 people and made her worthy of the special recognition bestowed on 4 her by the board of the Community Foundation; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 5 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Reneé McGuire on being named Philanthropist of the Year by the Community Foundation of Brazoria 7 8 County and commend this remarkable woman for devoting her talents and resources to such a commendable undertaking; and, be it further 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Mrs. McGuire as an expression of high regard by the 11

12 Texas House of Representatives.

O'Day

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 120

3

H.R. No. 120

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 120 was adopted by the House on January 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House