RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Cardiovascular diseases are the leading cause of death in the United States, claiming the lives of nearly half a million women each year, more than the next five causes of death combined and nearly twice as many as all forms of cancer; and

5 WHEREAS, While only 13 percent of women consider 6 cardiovascular disease their greatest health risk, 53 percent of 7 cardiovascular disease deaths occur in females; in addition, nearly 8 33,000 more women than men die from stroke each year; and

WHEREAS, In 2007, the estimated direct and indirect cost of treating heart attacks, strokes, and other related illnesses in the United States is \$432 billion; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, In conjunction with the American Heart Association's designation of February as American Heart Month, the organization's Go Red for Women Day campaign aims to inspire women to take charge of their heart health; the event is designed to encourage women to increase their awareness of the risk factors for coronary disease by using such tools as the American Heart Association's Go Red For Women Heart CheckUp and by talking to their health care providers; and

WHEREAS, Go Red for Women is the AHA's national call to help women live longer, stronger lives, and by educating and empowering them to reduce their risks, it is estimated that thousands of lives can be saved each year; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize February 2, 2007, as Go Red for Women
- 2 Day and encourage all Texans to support this laudable effort by
- 3 wearing the color red in honor of family, friends, and neighbors who
- 4 have fought heart disease.

Dukes Harless

Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 122 was adopted by the House on February 1, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House