H.R. No. 158

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, People from Denton County are assembling at the
- 2 State Capitol to celebrate Denton County Day on February 27, 2007;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, Named in honor of pioneer preacher, lawyer, and
- 5 soldier John Bunyan Denton, the county was officially created by
- 6 the Texas Legislature in 1846; with the arrival of the railroad some
- 7 four decades later, production of wheat and cotton increased and
- 8 the area emerged as a prominent agricultural center; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Denton County has continued to grow and prosper
- 10 throughout the years, and today its robust economy is bolstered by
- 11 trade, manufacturing, and tourism; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Visitors and residents alike enjoy recreation at
- 13 Lewisville, Grapevine, and Ray Roberts lakes, as well as such area
- 14 attractions as the Texas Motor Speedway, the Rare Book Room and
- 15 Texana Collections, and the Denton County Historical Museum and
- 16 Texas Heritage Center; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The area boasts two respected institutions of higher
- 18 learning, the University of North Texas and Texas Woman's
- 19 University, which draw thousands of students to their undergraduate
- 20 and graduate programs; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The city of Denton, established in 1857 as the
- county seat, has been recognized as a Main Street City and is home
- 23 to a lively town square and the popular Denton Arts and Jazz
- 24 Festival; and

H.R. No. 158

- 1 WHEREAS, With its natural beauty, history, and prosperity,
- 2 Denton County is a truly special part of the Lone Star State, and
- 3 its citizens can be proud to claim allegiance to such a vibrant
- 4 county; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2007, as Denton County
- 7 Day at the State Capitol and extend to its citizens sincere best
- 8 wishes for a memorable visit to Austin.

Crownover Parker Solomons

H.R. No. 158

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 158 was adopted by the House on February 27, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House