H.R. No. 177

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Eagle Pass and Maverick County are 2 gathering at the State Capitol on January 31, 2007, to celebrate the 3 contributions of their region to the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, Maverick County was named for Samuel Augustus Maverick in 1856, and its county seat, Eagle Pass, is located on the border between Mexico and Texas; originally named El Paso del Aguila because of the frequent flights of Mexican eagles over the area, the county seat was settled during the middle of the 19th century and has a unique history as a gateway to Texas from Mexico; and

WHEREAS, A favorite of tourists from across the state, Eagle Pass and Maverick County are home to several historically significant sites, including Fort Duncan Park and San Juan Plaza; outdoor recreational activities abound at Maverick County Lake, and nearby Piedras Negras offers residents and tourists alike the opportunity to experience the charm of Mexico firsthand; and

WHEREAS, As a center for industry, commerce, tourism, and recreation, Maverick County and Eagle Pass occupy an enviable position in South Texas; both city and county governments are committed to the expansion and development of the region's many resources, including local infrastructure improvements, construction of an international trade and convention center, and preservation of historic sites; and

WHEREAS, Led by Maverick County Judge Jose A. Aranda, Jr.,

H.R. No. 177

- 1 and Eagle Pass Mayor Chad Foster, members of the community visiting
- 2 on this day have much to be proud of as they continue to work toward
- 3 building a bright and prosperous future for the area; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby recognize January 31, 2007, as Eagle Pass and
- 7 Maverick County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the group
- 8 here today a warm welcome to Austin.

King of Zavala

H.R. No. 177

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 177 was adopted by the House on January 31, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House