## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas and New Mexico chapters of
- 2 Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., are meeting on February 9-12,
- 3 2007, in Austin for their annual Statewide Founders Day Weekend and
- 4 to celebrate the 94th anniversary of this national organization;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority traces its origins to
- 7 1913, when 22 women attending Howard University came together to
- 8 form a public service organization that would provide assistance
- 9 and support to those in need; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Today, the mission of the founding members lives on;
- 11 with more than 900 chapters and 200,000 members internationally,
- 12 Delta Sigma Theta Sorority plays a vital role in improving the
- 13 welfare of people the world over; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Working to benefit the lives of those less
- 15 fortunate, members of this dynamic organization strive to promote
- 16 educational and economic development, physical and mental health,
- 17 and political and international awareness and involvement, both in
- their local communities and on a global scale; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority stands at the forefront
- 20 of Texas' community service organizations, and it is a great
- 21 pleasure to recognize this outstanding group for its exceptional
- 22 work in behalf of others; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority,
- 24 Inc., be congratulated on the 94th anniversary of their

- 1 organization and that the members of the Texas and New Mexico
- 2 chapters be extended best wishes for their Statewide Founders Day
- 3 Weekend observance.

McClendon

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 193 was adopted by the House on February 7, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House