H.R. No. 218

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas, one
of the nation's oldest law enforcement organizations, are gathering
in Austin on February 21, 2007, to participate in Sheriffs'
Association of Texas Day at the Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, The Texas Constitution created the office of sheriff 6 in each county of the state; legislation requires that a sheriff 7 conserve peace and enforce the criminal laws of the state; 8 moreover, the sheriff is responsible for the county jail, bail 9 bonds, civil process, and the security of the courts, and in some 10 smaller counties, the sheriff may also act as the tax collector; and

11 WHEREAS, The first meeting of the Sheriffs' Association of 12 Texas took place on August 14, 1874; association members adopted 13 their preamble calling for sheriffs to assist one another in the 14 execution of laws, in the discharge of their duties against 15 criminals, and in the protection of the citizens in their 16 respective counties and throughout the state; the group has 17 continued to follow the dictates of this mission to this day; and

WHEREAS, The office of sheriff is one of the oldest forms of law enforcement; sheriffs in our state's 254 counties are elected to four-year terms, and each sheriff is a member of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas; in addition, more than 2,700 individuals are active members of the group, and more than 40,000 individuals are associate members; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

1

H.R. No. 218

Legislature hereby recognize February 21, 2007, as Sheriffs'
Association of Texas Day at the Capitol and commend the members of
the Sheriffs' Association of Texas for their many contributions to
our state; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the

7 Texas House of Representatives.

Kolkhorst

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Fischer Martinez McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

## H.R. No. 218

H.R. No. 218

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 218 was adopted by the House on February 21, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House