H.R. No. 219

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ten schools in the McKinney Independent School 2 District were named among the best public schools in the state in 3 the December 2006 ranking by *Texas Monthly* magazine; and

WHEREAS, Based on data compiled by the National Center for Educational Accountability, the ratings reflect student performance in reading, writing, math, science, and social studies, across multiple grades over a three-year period; and

WHEREAS, McKinney ISD was well represented, with seven 8 elementary schools and three middle schools making the list; most 9 notably, Valley Creek Elementary, under the able leadership of 10 11 Debbie Garinger, was cited as one of the state's five 12 highest-performing elementary schools; in addition, McNeil Elementary, led by Deborah Kanar, Eddins Elementary, led by Melanie 13 14 Raleeh, Wolford Elementary, led by Francine Gratt, Reuben Johnson Elementary, led by Laura Cooper, Walker Elementary, led by Deborah 15 16 Sanchez, and Glen Oaks Elementary, led by Beth Parker, all received much-deserved recognition; and 17

WHEREAS, Three of the district's middle schools were also designated as being among the state's most outstanding, including Faubion Middle School, led by Patty Jackson, Scott Johnson Middle School, led by Dr. Melinda DeFelice, and Dowell Middle School, led by Eartha Linson; and

23 WHEREAS, The dedicated faculty, staff, and students of these 24 10 schools are a source of great pride for the McKinney community,

1

H.R. No. 219 1 and their commitment to academic excellence is truly worthy of 2 special praise; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the 10 McKinney Independent School District schools named among the Best Public Schools in Texas for 2006 by *Texas Monthly* magazine and extend to all those affiliated with these outstanding institutions sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the schools as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Paxton

2

H.R. No. 219

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 219 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House