RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A delegation of citizens from El Cenizo is visiting

the State Capitol on the occasion of El Cenizo Day on February 12,

3 2007; and

2

5

8

9

10

11

17

18

WHEREAS, A small but proud community along the Rio Grande, 15

miles south of Laredo, El Cenizo was incorporated in 1989 and has a

6 population of 6,500 people; and

7 WHEREAS, Town residents are known for their ability to work

together to meet common goals; one example is La Gloria Development

Corporation, which was founded by local citizens; La Gloria has

embarked on a self-help construction program to provide home

improvements and new housing for the community, with families often

12 forming teams to construct new houses for one another; and

WHEREAS, Several times a year, the community comes together

14 to celebrate; the annual Spring Parade features contests for the

15 best dance squad, the best decorated float, the best show car, and

other events, as well as the bestowal of the Mayor's Distinguished

Award; the Fourth of July Family Festival is an opportunity to

celebrate the Independence Day holiday and to sample fine food and

19 live entertainment; and

20 WHEREAS, El Cenizo has distinguished itself as a community of

21 concerned and committed people, and the citizens' hard work,

22 solidarity, and dedication to positive growth and development are

23 deserving of commendation on this special day; now, therefore, be

24 it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize February 12, 2007, as El Cenizo Day at
- 3 the State Capitol and extend to the delegation sincere best wishes
- 4 for an enjoyable and informative visit to Austin.

Guillen

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 224 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House