By: Paxton H.R. No. 230

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Glen Oaks Elementary School in McKinney has received a No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School Award, the highest national accolade that can be bestowed on a school for grades K-12, and it was one of only 36 schools in Texas and 250 nationally to be

5 so recognized in 2006; and

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

WHEREAS, The award, created by the U.S. Department of Education in 1982 and redesigned in 2002 under the No Child Left Behind Act, honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools that are models of academic success; to qualify for nomination, schools must demonstrate academic superiority within their state or show dramatic and consistent gains in student achievement; and

WHEREAS, Principal Beth Parker and the Glen Oaks staff are committed to providing their students with a challenging and supportive learning environment, one that will prepare them well for their future studies and that will nourish in them a wide-ranging curiosity and love of learning; and

WHEREAS, Through their hard work, the students of Glen Oaks
Elementary have helped their school to achieve academic distinction
and have earned the admiration of their families, friends, and
community; and

WHEREAS, The receipt of a No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School Award is a great honor, and the conferring of this award on Glen Oaks Elementary is a fitting tribute to that school's

H.R. No. 230

- 1 dedication to excellence and its immeasurable contributions to its
- 2 community; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate the students, staff, and
- 5 administrators of Glen Oaks Elementary School on their receipt of a
- 6 No Child Left Behind--Blue Ribbon School Award and extend to them
- 7 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.