H.R. No. 237

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than three decades, the members of the 2 Texas Probation Association have provided leadership through 3 training, networking opportunities, and advocacy for probation 4 professionals throughout the Lone Star State; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 1974, the organization represents 6 professionals in the nearly 300 adult and juvenile probation 7 departments across the state who are responsible for enforcing 8 court orders, collecting fees, providing offender treatment and 9 counseling referrals, and collecting restitution for victims; and

10 WHEREAS, The Texas Probation Association and its membership 11 strive to enhance public safety as their primary role while 12 maintaining efficiency for Texas taxpayers; and

13 WHEREAS, The probation system is the most cost-effective 14 alternative to long-term incarceration, providing the courts with 15 additional resources designed to reduce recidivism and provide 16 treatment for the offender; and

17 WHEREAS, The Texas Probation Association provides these 18 individuals with a unified voice, empowering them to express their 19 concerns, make public their successes, and articulate their vision 20 for the future; and

21 WHEREAS, The men and women of the Texas Probation Association 22 are dedicated to improving the state's criminal and juvenile 23 justice systems, and their efforts in this regard are helping to 24 build a brighter and more promising future for all Texans; now,

1

H.R. No. 237

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize February 6, 2007, as Texas Probation
Association Day at the Capitol and extend to the members of that
organization sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the Texas Probation Association as an expression of
high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Pena

H.R. No. 237

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 237 was adopted by the House on February 6, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House