H.R. No. 242

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texas is the proud home to 1.7 million veterans, 197,000 of whom live in South Texas and the Rio Grande Valley; and WHEREAS, It is important to honor those who have fought valiantly for America's freedom and security in the past, especially the 1,000 World War II veterans that are passing on every day; and

WHEREAS, Members of Coastal Bend veterans organizations like 7 American Legion Post 633 in Mathis, American Legion Post 363 in 8 Rockport, American Legion Post 364 in Corpus Christi, Fleet Reserve 9 Association Branch 94 in Corpus Christi, Military Order of the 10 11 Purple Heart, Alaniz-Valentine Chapter 598 in Corpus Christi, Pearl 12 Harbor Survivors Chapter 5 in Corpus Christi, VFW Dudley Ives Post 13 6386 in Rockport, VFW John Wiebel Post 2932 in Aransas Pass, VFW Post 9318 in Taft, VFW Post 8967 Moore-McDonald Post in Port 14 Aransas, Post 8625 Sinton Post in Sinton, Post 3904 Stewart-Wendell 15 Post in Rockport, Post 3079 1st Lt. John J. McWhorter Post in 16 Mathis, Post 4403 Calhoun County Post in Port Lavaca, Vietnam 17 Veterans of America Chapter 910 in Corpus Christi, and Patriot 18 Guard Riders in Port Lavaca have a rich tradition of enhancing the 19 lives of millions of Texans through their community service 20 21 programs and special projects; and

22 WHEREAS, The aforementioned veterans organizations help 23 enrich the lives of veterans and their families, providing a close 24 community and strong voice for veterans, as well as acting as a

1

H.R. No. 242

1 catalyst for change in improving benefits for veterans; and

2 WHEREAS, A South Texas Veterans Administration hospital 3 would serve the needs of Coastal Bend veterans by providing 4 much-needed primary health care, specialized care, and related 5 medical and social support services; and

6 WHEREAS, The time has come to make certain that all veterans 7 in the Coastal Bend are enrolled in the Veterans Administration 8 Health Benefits program to help bring a long overdue Veterans 9 Administration hospital to the Corpus Christi area; and

10 WHEREAS, The number of Coastal Bend veterans enrolled in the 11 Veterans Administration Health Benefits program is a key factor in 12 securing a VA Hospital for South Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the veterans of the Coastal Bend area are commended for their valiant and courageous military service to the United States of America and honored for their continuing service to the South Texas community through their drive to bring a Veterans Administration Hospital to South Texas; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for each of the 16 Coastal Bend veterans organizations of 20 District 32 as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of 21 Representatives.

Garcia

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 242

Miles

Miller

3

H.R. No. 242

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 242 was adopted by the House on February 12, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House