RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Craig Holcomb is receiving the 2007 Spirit of the 2 Centennial Award on February 8, 2007, for his outstanding service 3 in the preservation of Fair Park in Dallas; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, Mr. Holcomb has served as executive director of Friends of Fair Park since 1990; under his able leadership, the organization has raised \$91 million for capital improvements and for such important new projects as the African American Museum, the IMAX Theater, and The Women's Museum; his efforts have also helped to raise funds for the restoration of four of the park's major buildings and 17 large murals and for the re-creation of the Fish Fountain and the Texas Woofus; and

WHEREAS, In addition to his service to Friends of Fair Park, Mr. Holcomb serves as executive director of the Trinity Commons Foundation, a nonprofit organization working to improve the Trinity River corridor by providing increased flood control, more recreational opportunities, and a reliever route for heavily trafficked downtown freeways; this important effort was born out of the Trinity River Corridor Citizens' Committee, an 1,800-member group chaired by Mr. Holcomb; and

20 WHEREAS, From 1983 to 1989, this notable Texan served on the 21 Dallas City Council, chairing the public safety committee, the 22 police and firefighters pension fund, and the cultural affairs 23 commission; and

24 WHEREAS, Mr. Holcomb has also played an integral role in the

- 1 development of the East Dallas Thoroughfare Plan, the Deep Ellum
- 2 Planned Development district, and the Dallas Arboretum and
- 3 Botanical Garden Master Plan; and
- WHEREAS, A man of tremendous vision and integrity, Craig
- 5 Holcomb has demonstrated extraordinary dedication to his
- 6 community, and his efforts have made a positive difference in the
- 7 lives of many fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby honor Craig Holcomb on his receipt of the 2007
- 10 Spirit of the Centennial Award and commend him for his many
- 11 contributions to the Dallas community; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for Mr. Holcomb as an expression of high regard by the
- 14 Texas House of Representatives.

Hodge

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 246 was adopted by the House on February 6, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House