H.R. No. 254

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Robert Villarreal has been honored with the San 2 Antonio Police Department's first-ever Citizen Hero Award in 3 recognition of his courageous actions that resulted in saving the 4 lives of two area children; and

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Villarreal, an officer with U.S. Customs and 6 Border Protection, was running errands on the morning of January 7 23, 2007, when he came across a young boy covered in blood; stopping 8 to render aid, Mr. Villarreal learned that the boy had fled his 9 nearby home, where he had been stabbed by his mother and where his 10 older brother was still in danger; and

11 WHEREAS, Mr. Villarreal entered the house and discovered the 12 boy's mother holding a knife to the throat of her other son, 13 threatening to kill him; Mr. Villarreal then subdued the woman, 14 saving the lives of both children through his resolute action; and

WHEREAS, Without a moment's hesitation, Robert Villarreal demonstrated unwavering bravery in the face of danger, risking his own life to aid another; at a time when valor and heroism are in high demand, it is important to pay tribute to individuals like Mr. Villarreal, who is indeed an inspiration to us all; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Robert Villarreal on his receipt of the San Antonio Police Department Citizen Hero Award and commend him for his lifesaving effort; and, be it further

1

H.R. No. 254
1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
2 prepared for Mr. Villarreal as an expression of high regard by the
3 Texas House of Representatives.

Castro

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 254

H.R. No. 254

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 254 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House