## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dana Kristin Boyd, a second-grade teacher at Dolphin

Terrace Elementary School in the Ysleta Independent School District

in El Paso, has been chosen as the Texas Elementary Teacher of the

Year for 2007 by the Texas Education Agency; and

WHEREAS, Dana Boyd dreamed of being a teacher ever since she was a child; growing up in a house full of books, she especially treasured a chalkboard that she received as a Christmas present one

8 year; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Boyd has taught first, second, and third grade at Dolphin Terrace School since 1999; fostering a welcoming environment in her classroom, she instills confidence and a drive for excellence in her students and creates a family atmosphere through letters sent home with each student and with a regular potluck luncheon for students and their parents; and

WHEREAS, An innovative education professional, Ms. Boyd has strengthened the ties between her classroom and the community; arranging for local businesses to donate bicycles, she awards a bike every grading period to a student with a perfect attendance record; moreover, she helps her students give back to the community through an annual fund-raising drive for the Alzheimer's Association, for which her class alone has raised more than \$500; and

22 and

WHEREAS, The first African American selected for the Texas
Teacher of the Year award since its inception, Dana Kristin Boyd

- 1 will represent the Lone Star State in the National Teacher of the
- 2 Year competition; committed, compassionate, and dedicated,
- 3 Ms. Boyd is an exemplary member of her profession and an
- 4 outstanding role model for her students; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Dana Kristin Boyd for being named
- 7 2007 Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year by the Texas Education
- 8 Agency and extend to her best wishes for continued achievement in
- 9 the classroom; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Ms. Boyd as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 12 House of Representatives.

Chavez

| Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego | Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez | Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler |
|---|--|--|
| Gallego   | Menendez   | Zedler   |
| Garcia  | Merritt  | Zerwas   |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 268 was adopted by the House on February 7, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House