H.R. No. 278

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Hispanic Association of Colleges and 2 Universities has introduced a new affiliation category to bring 3 together college presidents and public school superintendents to 4 help increase the educational success of Hispanic students; and

5 WHEREAS, Now celebrating 20 years of working for Hispanic 6 achievement in education, HACU is a national advocacy group based 7 in San Antonio that represents more than 450 colleges worldwide; 8 and

9 WHEREAS, Recognizing that student achievement in college 10 begins with a strong educational foundation laid in primary, 11 middle, and high school, HACU has established the Hispanic-Serving 12 School District (HSSD) to unite administrators serving Hispanic 13 students in an effort to develop a national agenda for increasing 14 these students' high school graduation and college enrollment 15 rates; and

16 WHEREAS, Potentially encompassing 1,600 school districts 17 nationwide, an HSSD is defined as a district whose student 18 enrollment is at least 25 percent Hispanic; currently, there are 19 HSSD affiliates in Texas, Arizona, Connecticut, New Mexico, and 20 Illinois; and

21 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of HACU president Dr. Antonio 22 Flores, San Antonio HSSD program manager Jeanette Morales will help 23 area K-12 superintendents and college administrators work toward 24 easing Hispanic students' transition into college; now, therefore,

1

H.R. No. 278

1 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby recognize the members of the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities for their dedication to improving educational opportunities for Hispanic students through this innovative and far-sighted program; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for the Hispanic Association of Colleges and Universities 9 as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of 10 Representatives.

Castro

H.R. No. 278

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 278 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House