By: Patrick H.R. No. 280

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Arlington Movin' Mavs 1 2 wheelchair basketball team captured its seventh national title on 3 April 1, 2006, defeating the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Warhawks 53-51 in the championship game of 4 the 5 Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball Conference Tournament held 6 at the University of Illinois; and WHEREAS, Members of the conference since 1989, the Movin' 7 Mavs are the first and only intercollegiate team to have each of its 8 members on full athletic scholarship; since joining the conference, 9 the Mavs have had six players selected as Most Valuable Player, 10

members on full athletic scholarship; since joining the conference, the Mavs have had six players selected as Most Valuable Player, while 16 players have been named to the first-team All-American squad; and

WHEREAS, Led by head coach and UTA alumnus Jim Hayes, the

WHEREAS, Led by head coach and UTA alumnus Jim Hayes, the Movin' Mavs demonstrated the drive of true champions in their quest for the tournament title; through their hard work and dedication to excellence, these talented student-athletes have furthered the stellar reputation of the UTA wheelchair basketball program, and it is a pleasure to wish them well as they defend their title on their home court at this year's National Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball Tournament, which begins on March 3, 2007; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at
Arlington Movin' Mavs on winning the 2006 National Intercollegiate

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

H.R. No. 280

- 1 Wheelchair Basketball Championship and extend to the team best
- 2 wishes for success at the 2007 tournament; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Coach Hayes and the Movin' Mavs as an expression of
- 5 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.