H.R. No. 293

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, El Paso community lawyers Edward and Maria Hernandez
received the Henry B. Gonzalez Civil Rights Award from the Texas
Civil Rights Project at the 16th annual Bill of Rights Dinner in
Austin on November 2, 2006; and

5 WHEREAS, Named for the late congressman from San Antonio, the 6 Henry B. Gonzalez Civil Rights Award is presented annually to 7 recognize service in the defense of civil rights; and

8 WHEREAS, Edward Hernandez has a bachelor's degree from The 9 University of Texas at El Paso and a law degree from Yale 10 University; working with the Paso del Norte Civil Rights Center, he 11 has defended clients in First Amendment cases and worked to protect 12 El Pasoans against abuses in the enforcement of immigration law; he 13 also has helped to institute special judicial courts of inquiry to 14 investigate police corruption; and

15 WHEREAS, With a bachelor's degree and a law degree from the 16 University of Washington, Maria Hernandez played an essential role 17 in representing El Paso high school students in an unlawful arrest 18 lawsuit, and she has defended the First Amendment rights of 19 students at UTEP; and

20 WHEREAS, The first residents of El Paso to win a Henry B. 21 Gonzalez Civil Rights Award, Mr. and Mrs. Hernandez were 22 instrumental in encouraging the Texas Civil Rights Project to open 23 an office in El Paso, and their recognition by the organization is 24 truly well-deserved; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 293

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Edward and Maria Hernandez for 3 receiving the Henry B. Gonzalez Civil Rights Award from the Texas 4 Civil Rights Project and offer them best wishes for their continued 5 service to the people of El Paso; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for 7 Mr. and Mrs. Hernandez as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Chavez

H.R. No. 293

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 293 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House