H.R. No. 369

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Patriots baseball team of The University of 2 Texas at Tyler has won the Jostens/National Association of Division 3 III Athletic Administrators Community Service Award for the best 4 ongoing project or activity in the nation; and

5 WHEREAS, The award honors the team's Sport Cards for Kids program, which began in June 2003; the Patriots baseball players 6 have since conducted more than 125 events with East Texas 7 organizations, including Tyler Independent School District, 8 Whitehouse Independent School District, Bullard Independent School 9 District, the American Heart Walk, Trinity Mother Frances Hospital, 10 and the Boys and Girls Clubs of East Texas, touching the lives of 11 12 thousands of young people in the Tyler area; and

WHEREAS, Members of the team have promoted education and caring by providing baseball cards to children in local elementary schools and hospital pediatric units; the program was later expanded so that the players could offer baseball clinics and sports equipment for young people; and

18 WHEREAS, Head coach James Vilade, along with assistants Kyle 19 Welsh and Jack Price, began the program in order to provide area 20 youth with local sports role models and to allow the members of the 21 baseball team to be helpful to the Tyler community; and

22 WHEREAS, Past and present members of the UT Tyler Patriots 23 have graciously answered this call to action; in so doing, their 24 service to the city of Tyler has extended well beyond the baseball

1

H.R. No. 369 1 diamond, and they have become a powerful and positive influence on 2 the area's young residents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate The University of Texas at Tyler Patriots baseball team on winning a Jostens/National Association of Division III Athletic Administrators Community Service Award and commend the players and coaches for their commitment to their community; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

Berman

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 369

H.R. No. 369

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 369 was adopted by the House on April 24, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House