RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Area Health Education Center network of Texas is composed of the East Texas AHEC, based at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, the South Texas AHEC, based at The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, and the West Texas AHEC, based at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Lubbock, as well as 19 regional AHEC operations located throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, Part of a national network of more than 250 operations in 46 states, area health education centers are unique among state-supported, agency-based health care programs; each center collaborates with a wide range of partners at the local and state levels to develop a quality health care workforce and help address unmet health-related needs in underserved communities; and

WHEREAS, Area health education centers play a vital role in addressing these needs through several initiatives; they recruit students from these communities to participate in career training, foster educational experiences to encourage students to address the needs of the underserved, and help place health care professionals in communities where they are most needed; and

WHEREAS, In addition, area health education centers offer programs to improve health literacy and increase consumers' understanding of health care, and they assist communities in evaluating and refining their local health system to meet regional needs; and

WHEREAS, The innovative approach of the AHEC network strengthens the health care infrastructure of communities, thereby enhancing economic development and quality of life for many people; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby honor the Area Health Education Center network of Texas for its dedication to improving the health of residents of communities across the state through a variety of important efforts; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the Area Health Education Center network of Texas as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McReynolds

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 377 was adopted by the House on February 15, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House