RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, In his 14-year career with the Dallas Cowboys, Bob Lilly distinguished himself as one of the legendary players of the National Football League, and his accomplishments have made him an outstanding role model for several generations of Texans as well as for sports fans around the nation; and WHEREAS, A Lone Star native born in Throckmorton, Bob Lilly attended Texas Christian University before joining the Cowboys in 1961; anchoring the Dallas defensive line with fast and ferocious

play, he helped bring about the team's remarkable success in the late 1960s and early 1970s when they competed in the playoffs for eight consecutive years, appeared in two Super Bowls, and in 1972,

12 won their first Super Bowl Championship; this superstar player was

elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1980; and

WHEREAS, After retiring in 1975, Mr. Lilly embarked on a new career as a creative artist, working as a landscape photographer and owning a photo art gallery for a number of years; both on and off the field, Bob Lilly has proven to be an individual of tremendous skill and dedication, and it is a pleasure for the members of this chamber to pay tribute to his legacy of excellence; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby honor Bob Lilly for his professional achievements and commend him for the inspiring example he has set throughout his life; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mr. Lilly as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.

Isett

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Miles Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 378 was adopted by the House on February 13, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House