RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A delegation from the Texas State University System 1 2 is gathering at the State Capitol for its Legislative Day on 3 February 14, 2007; and WHEREAS, The oldest state university system in Texas, the TSU 4 5 System was established in 1911 as a means to support and manage 6 state teachers colleges; since that time, the system has evolved into a network of higher education institutions stretching from the 7 Texas-Louisiana border to the Big Bend region of far West Texas; and 8 9 WHEREAS, Throughout its history, the system has remained committed to its mission of providing a quality education that is 10 11 affordable and accessible to all students, and in so doing, it has 12 enabled generations of Texans to become successful and productive members of society; and 13 14 WHEREAS, Today, the Texas State University System offers a broad range of academic opportunities at nine institutions, 15 including Angelo State University, Lamar University, Sam Houston 16 State University, Sul Ross State University, Sul Ross State 17 18 University-Rio Grande College, Texas State University-San Marcos, Lamar State College-Orange, Lamar State College-Port Arthur, and 19 the Lamar Institute of Technology; and 20 21 WHEREAS, The system is governed by a nine-member board of

regents that includes chancellor Charles Matthews, chair Kent

Adams, and vice chair Bernie Francis, as well as Dora Alcala, Alan

Dreeben, John Dudley, Don Flores, Ken Luce, Pollyanna Stephens, and

22

23

24

- 1 Greg Wilkinson; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The Texas State University System is a vital
- 3 contributor to the success of our state, providing countless young
- 4 people with an outstanding education and a strong foundation for
- 5 the future; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the Texas State University System
- 8 and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for a memorable
- 9 day at the State Capitol.

Gallego

Craddick	Gattis	Miles
Allen	Geren	Miller
Alonzo	Giddings	Moreno
Anchia	Gonzales	Morrison
Anderson	Gonzalez Toureilles	Mowery
Aycock	Goolsby	Murphy
Bailey	Guillen	Naishtat
Berman	Haggerty	Noriega
Bohac	Hamilton	O'Day
Bolton	Hancock	Oliveira
Bonnen	Hardcastle	Olivo
Branch	Harless	Orr
Brown of Kaufman	Harper-Brown	Ortiz, Jr.
Brown of Brazos	Hartnett	Otto
Burnam	Heflin	Parker
Callegari	Hernandez	Patrick
Castro	Herrero	Paxton
Chavez	Hilderbran	Pena
Chisum	Hill	Phillips
Christian	Hochberg	Pickett
Cohen	Hodge	Pierson
Coleman	Homer	Pitts
Cook of Navarro	Hopson	Puente
Cook of Colorado	Howard of Fort Bend	Quintanilla
Corte	Howard of Travis	Raymond
Crabb	Hughes	Riddle
Creighton	Isett	Ritter
Crownover	Jackson	Rodriguez
Darby	Jones	Rose
Darby Davis of Harris	Keffer	Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas	King of Parker	Smith of Harris
Delisi	King of Tarker King of Taylor	Smithee
Deshotel	King of Taylor King of Zavala	Solomons
Driver	Kolkhorst	Strama
Dukes	Krusee	Straus
Dunnam	_	Swinford
Dutton	Kuempel Latham	Talton
Eiland		
Eissler	Laubenberg Leibowitz	Taylor
		Thompson Truitt
Elkins	Lucio III	
England	Macias Madden	Turner Van Arsdale
Escobar		
Farabee	Mallory Caraway	Vaught
Farias	Martinez	Veasey
Flores	Martinez Fischer	Villarreal
Flores	McCall	Vo
Flynn	McClendon	West
Frost	McReynolds	Woolley
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 383 was adopted by the House on February 14, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House