By: Ortiz, Jr.

H.R. No. 385

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Barbara Cline of Corpus Christi is celebrating her 2 80th birthday on February 13, 2007, and this momentous occasion in 3 her life offers an appropriate opportunity to honor this esteemed 4 Texan; and

5 WHEREAS, Born in Corpus on February 13, 1927, Mrs. Cline is 6 the widow of Robert Lee Cline, with whom she raised three daughters: 7 Cindy Myers, Susie Nemec, and Kathy Cline; today, she also enjoys 8 the love and affection of six grandchildren and seven 9 great-grandchildren; and

WHEREAS, An active civic leader with a longtime interest in politics, Mrs. Cline was elected as a precinct chair in the early 12 1960s and has been an election judge since 1962; she was a national 13 delegate to the 1978 mid-term Democratic Convention in Nashville 14 and to the 1988 Democratic Convention in Atlanta; and

15 WHEREAS, Mrs. Cline was elected Nueces County Democratic 16 chair in 1986 and has served as an election administrator for 25 17 years; moreover, she currently serves as bylaws chair for Texas 18 Democratic Women and as treasurer of the Coastal Bend chapter of the 19 Texas Democratic Women; and

20 WHEREAS, In addition to her continuing support of the 21 democratic process, this respected independent businesswoman has 22 volunteered with the Girl Scouts of the USA for 25 years and served 23 as PTA president at Fraiser Elementary School and Sundeen Junior 24 High School; and

1

H.R. No. 385

1 WHEREAS, Barbara Cline is a role model for her family, 2 friends, and fellow citizens, inspiring those around her with her 3 can-do attitude, and her 80 years of achievements and wonderful 4 memories are truly cause for celebration; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 6 Legislature hereby congratulate Barbara Cline on her 80th birthday 7 and extend to her best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it 8 further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Mrs. Cline as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

2