H.R. No. 390

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Stephen Daniel Becka of Boy Scouts of America Troop
 40 in Houston has attained the rank of Eagle Scout, and this
 accomplishment truly merits special recognition; and

WHEREAS, Receiving the Eagle Scout badge is a significant honor, bestowed on only a small fraction of those who enter the scouting movement; in the course of meeting the rank's demanding criteria, Mr. Becka earned 31 merit badges, two religious honors, and the Order of the Arrow Award; in addition, he logged an estimated 150 hours of work on Eagle Scout projects of benefit to his community; and

11 WHEREAS, The son of Lynda and Daniel Becka, Jr., this fine 12 young Texan has served his troop as a senior patrol leader, patrol 13 leader, crew captain, and assistant crew leader; his impressive 14 leadership abilities have helped his fellow troop members achieve 15 success in their many endeavors and have earned him their lasting 16 respect and admiration; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Becka is a published poet, a member of the National Honor Society and his school's honor roll, and a regular volunteer with local nursing homes and L'Amore Children's Shelter; moreover, he has completed service projects at Seton Catholic Junior High and St. Rose of Lima Church and School, where he is a valued congregant; and

WHEREAS, Eagle Scout Becka's dedication to excellence and his
 perseverance in the pursuit of his goals have proven him worthy to

1

H.R. No. 390 stand among scouting's elite, and he may indeed reflect with pride on a job well done; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Stephen Daniel Becka on attaining 5 the rank of Eagle Scout and extend to him best wishes for the 6 future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Becka as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Bohac

H.R. No. 390

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 390 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House