H.R. No. 393

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, An engaged and active citizenry is vital for any 2 democracy, and the Daughters of Liberty Republican Women is a 3 superb example of the positive difference a dedicated and public-spirited group can make in promoting common goals; and 4 WHEREAS, Established in 1990, DOL offers its members the 5 6 chance to gain an increased understanding of the political process and to advocate for issues at all levels of government; its members 7 promote community outreach programs that involve literacy and 8 women's health and activities that support the U.S. troops in Iraq; 9 they also work toward the election of officeholders who will 10 11 dedicate themselves to passing legislation that 12 traditional family values; moreover, DOL members have been

Party at the local, state, and national levels and in securing

successful in achieving leadership positions in the Republican

offices as judges, city councilwomen, and county and state

16 officials; and

13

14

15

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, The organization has garnered attention in the national news media and has been recognized by the Texas Federation of Republican Women for its commitment to excellence; and

WHEREAS, By encouraging and developing active involvement in the important political issues of the day, the members of DOL are contributing to the success and vitality of our democracy, and it is a pleasure to commend them for their participation in the political process; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 393

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor the members of the Daughters of Liberty
- 3 Republican Women on their work and extend to them sincere best
- 4 wishes for continued achievement; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Murphy

н	R	$N \cap$	393

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 393 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House